T2:Trainspotting for 2 Hours

I must admit I was a little concerned about going to see the new movie T2: Trainspotting – how could it possibly live up to the original film of my youth? In fact I devoured the book, play and then film in that order as and when they first came out – loving them all. Then, once I was childfull and no longer ‘cool’ I lived opposite the film’s producer and his lovely wife (who was also the wardrobe mistress of this and many other excellent movies) for a few years, and at the time this caused much excitement in my household – especially as by having similar aged children me and her did hang out… but I digress. It was another sneaky afternoon visit to the cinema and I was a little concerned about being disappointed by the new Trainspotting film, but my fears were unfounded – it was great.

The four main characters had all suitably aged (although methinks Begbie has had a bit of botox #mostunlikelytohaveanipandtuck) and all had credible storylines as to why they had been apart and why they then got back together. The whole Choose Life premise was brought excellently up to date for my generation, Choose Instagram etc etc. In fact social media and its effect on today’s society was very much referenced throughput the movie in a very successful fashion. And in fact much of the filming was complemented with closed circuit TV filing, video footage, and iPhones.

The storyline was brilliant, and believable – the characters are developed and moved on from Trainspotting, especially Spud who it transpires is the narrator of the two movies. Sick Boy as a coke fiend is played excellently by Jonny Lee Miller – who I’ve since found out went to the same schools as my son (further Trainspotting excitement for me!). Begbie, who has got to be one of the most frightening yet believable fictional characters ever – and in this movie he earned a tiny amount of my sympathy when Spud’s tale about Begbie’s father unfolds. And Renton is still charming and attractive despite his obvious flaws.

For me the music wasn’t as prominently featured as it was in the original movie – however what music they did use was great and the silent nod to the legendary David Bowie when Renton is flicking through his vinyl collection is most effective.

In summary, during the movie Renton talks about being a tourist in the nostalgia of his own youth – and watching T2 Trainspotting felt much like this for me – but in a good way. What more can I say T2 Trainspotting is brilliant.

Leave a Reply

