Too much satisfaction too little time

IMG_1846

The other day I met a friend for lunch in Sloane Square. After we’d finished eating we had an hour to spare before we both had to leave (her to a hair appointment me to collect my children) so we went to check out the Rolling Stones exhibition at the Saatchi Gallery – this was exciting to me for two reasons.

  1. Although I have lived in southwest London for 12 years I have never actually been to the Saatchi Gallery.
  1. Me and the friend I was with have a bit of a history with the Rolling Stones… Years ago when I first moved to London we went to a Tommy Hilfiger launch party in the West End (my friend works in fashion and often used to take me to fancy fashion and PR events) and Mick Jagger was a guest at the party. We were both slightly drunk (my friend and I, not Mick and I) as the booze was free and free-flowing, and she dared me to pinch Mick Jagger’s bum – and I did! That’s one of my biggest claims to fame and the one that got me the audition for Pointless, but that’s another story…

IMG_1805

Anyway 15 or so years later after finishing our lunch we decided to check out the Exhibitionism exhibition – and let’s just say that one hour was definitely not long enough. The exhibition is brilliant – it’s a complete and utter assault on the senses. It’s loud, it’s bright, it’s bold, powerful, stunning, confusing, interesting – and any other enthusiastic adjectives you can think of.

You start in a red room, which is all a bit overwhelming and you don’t really know what to look at or read first. This feeds into a blue news-reel room, again very interesting but also rather hectic. Then with your senses fully heightened it all calms down a bit.

Overall it’s a brilliantly interactive exhibition – you get to mix their music – walk through a reconstruction of the flat they shared in Chelsea when they were just starting out (most reminiscent of uni days) – plus there’s plenty of old video footage.

IMG_1835

Other highlights include:

A mock up if their recording studio.

Diary excerpts and notes – my favourite quote being from Keith “No one sleeps when I’m awake” – as my friend says, he sounds just like me…

Amazing guitar collection – Keith even has a Gibson Les Paul like mine. (I never knew Keith and I would have so much in common!)

A walk through their tour costumes from the dogtooth suits of the early days to the McQueen, Versace and L Wren attire of the more recent concerts, with some stunning studded jumpsuits thrown in for good measure.

The finale, a 3D concert in a ‘backstage area’ that is actually rather impressive, and that’s coming from someone who saw Jurassic World at the IMAX.

I left wishing I had at least another hour to spend there as it really is a brilliant exhibition – and I’m not even a massive Stones fan. However a word of warning, I wouldn’t go with a headache or feeling in anyway under par as it is all extremely full on, a complete and utter assault on the senses.

IMG_1840

Leave a Reply

