Banana bread in 5 minutes (plus cooking time obvs…)

banana breadApart from travelling – another thing that I get great pleasure from is cooking. I spent years being a useless cook – personally I blame my mum who always did everything for me when I was growing up so I never had to learn. (Yep – when in doubt blame your mum I say…).

However once I had kids of my own I realised it was time to learn how to cook. I’ll be honest – I am still learning – but I’m definitely getting better, and some of the things I bake are actually even better than the versions made by my chef boyf, which annoys him no end… And as I’m always pressed for time – most things I cook have to take a minimal amount of time.

So here’s my banana bread in 5 minutes (plus an hour and a quarter in the oven during which time you can get on with other more pressing aspects in your life!). I particularly love this recipe cos you get to use up those really manky bananas at the bottom of your fruit bowl that you should have chucked out (or eaten) days ago. And yes the ones in the photograph are the actual ones I used to cook this banana bread today!

Ingredients:

175g plain flour

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp bicarbonate of soda

125g salted butter, melted

150g caster sugar

2 large eggs, beaten

4 overripe bananas, mashed

1stp vanilla extract

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 170 degrees C.

2. Combine the flour, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda.

3. In a separate bowl mix together the melted butter and the sugar, add the vanilla extract, then beat in the eggs.

4. Add the mashed bananas to this wet mixture and combine well.

5. Add the flour mixture and combine well.

6. Pour into a lined loaf tin and pop in the oven for 1¼ hours.

7. When it is ready get it out of the oven and then leave to cool in the tin.

Bananas2

Leave a Reply

